Uncategorized

Tips for flawless looking foundation

Hey Lovelies,

I always get such kind compliments on how great my foundation looks, so in this post I will share how I apply & set my foundation. I have also created a step by step video on how I apply my foundation which can be found on my Instagram page.

Right of the bat I have to say that knowing your skin type and prepping your skin correctly will go a long way towards helping your foundation look great. You may have noticed that brands now days create so may different types of primers and this is to cater for all the different skin types out there. For example if you have dry skin then your skin prep should be different to someone who has oily skin. A mattifying primer may work wonders for someone with oily skin while a more moisturizing primer may be suited to dry skin.

Maybelline baby skin pore eraser primer

I have combination skin, my T-zone is very shiny and the rest of my face is normal. I have to therefore pay more attention to setting those parts of my face that tend to get shiny. My other options are to use a matte primer or matte foundation. I did try using matte foundation on my shiny areas and a satin finish on the other areas of my face and it looked amazing. The only trick here is you have to make sure the 2 foundation shades are almost perfectly matched.

Makeup Revolution Fast base stick foundation provides a dewy finish

Choosing the right foundation for your skin type also plays a huge part in the process. Brands also diversify their foundation types to cater for our needs and off the top of my head I know there are matte, dewy and satin finish foundations. We all love a dewy finish foundation but on oily skin it may not wear well. If you have oily skin you may be better off with a matte foundation and for that glowy finish you can add in a bit of skin illuminator into the foundation.

Maybelline Fit me foundation provides a matte finish

A really matte foundation may not sit well on dry skin but correct skin prep can assist to avoid those problems. Dewy finish products will work great on dry/combo skin and give you that glow you crave. I personally love satin finish foundations as they are in in-between of dewy and matte foundations. They give more of subtle healthy glow finish which is totally gorgeous! This foundation type may work well on all skin types if the skin is prepped properly and the foundation is set properly.

Estee Lauder Double wear foundation provides a satin finish

Lastly, as with the other mentioned products, there are also different types of setting sprays for different skin types to assist with setting your foundation better. There are matter, dewy, illuminating, shine control and many other types of setting sprays to help you lock in that look!

Step 1: Prep skin accordingly

  • Cleanse & moisturize skin
    1. Starting off with clean fresh skin is a step in the right direction.
    2. After cleansing apply your moisturizer and wait at least 30 minutes before applying makeup. Remember, even if you have oily skin you still need to moisturize to ensure the skin is well nourished.
  • Prime skin
    1. Choose your primer according to your skin type and you will be good to go!
    2. My go to primers are the Maybelline baby skin pore eraser, Smashbox Photo finish primer water and the Maybelline Superstay 24hr primer.
    3. I normally give my primer some time to settle, usually about 10 minutes, before applying foundation.
    4. If I am using a matte foundation I add some skin illuminator to it for a lovely glow.
  • Blot out excess oil
    1. Blotting paper can be used to remove excess oil before you apply your foundation. This is recommended for people with oily skin.

Step 2: Applying foundation

  • Once the face is prepped apply foundation as desired.
  • Blend out the foundation evenly using a brush or beauty blender. Remember to blend into the hairline, ears and down the neck.
  • Dab the foundation with a damp beauty blender to help it set better into the skin or if you want a more natural finish.

Step 3: Set the foundation

  • Use a setting powder to gently set the foundation in place. I use a large fluffy brush to apply the setting powder.
  • If you are not using a matte foundation, then apply some setting powder on the very oily areas and let it sit for a while. Then dust off with a brush.
  • Once you have applied all other makeup products use your face powder to set the look.
  • Finish off with a suitable setting spray to help your makeup stay in place.
Yardley translucent powder can be used to set foundation

Step 4: Touch ups

  • As and when required during the wear time keep your powder on hand to touch up if necessary.
  • If need be you can also apply some setting spray to refresh your makeup.
  • Lastly you can use blotting paper to gently absorb excess oil.

So lovelies, I hope this post was helpful to you. If you have any questions drop them in the comments below.

XOXO Beauty & the Bronzer

Leave a comment