Uncategorized

The different types of eyeliner and how to choose the right one for you

Hi Lovelies,

Now while the rest of the world has swiftly moved on to baking and contouring, I still see a lot of people that still struggle with applying eyeliner and winged eyeliner.

I definitely think choosing an eyeliner that you are comfortable with plays a huge role in getting the skill right so lets take a look at the different eyeliner types and what they each have to offer.

1. Gel eyeliner:

  • These usually come in little pot shaped containers and they can be applied with a flat, bent or angled eyeliner brush.
  • I usually find this great if you get the correct one. Some are really dry and difficult to apply.
  • I would not recommend the Maybelline gel eyeliner as I had various issues with it. The Morphe slate gel eyeliner is great and many people rave about the Inglot one as well.
  • With the correct brush it is easy to apply this on the eye. I do find that doing wings can be a bit challenging though.
  • I definitely think this takes a bit of practice to get used to. Try and get a nice thin angle/flat brush to apply this liner.

2. Pencil/gel pencil eyeliner

  • These are great as they are not too expensive and they are great for practicing.
  • I do find though that most of these liners do smudge on the eye lid so the staying power is not that great
  • I mostly use these on my lower lash line or my waterline
  • I really like the Avon glimmer sticks and the LA Girl gel glide eyeliner pencil.
  • These also come in a variety of colors which I love.

3. Liquid eyeliner

  • These are my favorite and it works really well if you find a great one
  • I find these the easiest to work with and once they dry majority of the time they do not budge
  • The liquid liners usually come with a brush or felt tip applicator.
  • I usually look for a thin consistency of the liquid, non-flaky once it has dried down and a thin brush. I prefer the brush over the felt tip applicator but I will occasionally buy the felt tip it the liquid liner itself is good.
  • My favorite are the NYX matte liquid eyeliner, Rimmel glam eyes & Essence super last.

4. Felt tip liners

  • The first felt tip liner I tried was from BH cosmetics. These look like felt tip pens and the liquid is in the pen.
  • If you get a good quality one the tips are great for applying liner. I do find however that they dry out pretty fast
  • I think the trick with this is finding one with a great tip that does not move around a lot. This way you can get a precise line even if you are not that great with applying liner.
  • Personally I am not a fan of these liners but I recently saw the great reviews the Fenty Beauty Flyliner has been getting and I am seriously considering trying it.

For me eyeliner is the one makeup product I wear daily so I am constantly trying new ones and refining the skill. Once I found my favorite type of eyeliner I just kept practicing with it and now I can do my eyeliner in my sleep 🙂 However, even with many years of practice I still have my off days where my liner just won’t cooperate with me and drives me crazy! This will happen no matter how many time you practice what so just be strong and keep going 🙂

If you are a beginner and looking to try affordable eyeliner I suggest looking at the Essence, LA Girl or Wet n Wild brand which are good value for money.

If you have any questions drop them in the comments section below.

XOXO Beauty & the Bronzer

 

 

 

Leave a comment