Uncategorized

My favorite products that cost less than R150 each

Hey guys,

I love trying new makeup products and I have quickly learnt that a high price does not always mean good quality. We all have different makeup needs so some of the more affordable products may actually work wonders if we try them.

If you follow my blog you would know that I recently did my review on the Urban Decay All Nighter concealer which I was not entirely happy with considering the price I had paid. Soon after I purchased a more affordable concealer which I really love. We live and we learn 🙂

Anyway, today’s post will include my favorite products that cost less than R150, which most of you will agree, is a steal! I will try to give more than one product option where I can. I have checked all the prices at the time of writing this post but they may vary at different stores or due to price increases.

1.Foundation

  • Maybelline Fit me matte & poreless
    • OK if you follow me on Instagram then you definitely saw this coming! I love this foundation.
    • It applies beautifully, the consistency is great, the finish looks amazing & the coverage is good.
    • This only costs around R100.00 and you can get it at Dischem. I see that Clicks has raised their price on this to about R110.

img_20180721_155743_530-e1538721220935.jpg

2. Highlight

  • Freedom makeup Goddess of Love highlighters
    • You can pick this up for around a R100 and they are amazing. There are many different shades as well.
    • I have the shade Goddess of faith. It provides such a gorgeous natural glow and its build-able to a more intense glow.
    • You can get this at Jet stores or on the cosmetic distributors website.
      20170928_172443

        Goddess of Faith highlighter

3. Primer

  • Maybelline Baby skin pore eraser
    • I use this primer all the time and I love it.
    • It keeps my makeup in place & at around R89.00 it just makes me smile.
    • I usually purchase this at Clicks or Dischem.
  • LA Girl eyeshadow primer
    • I use this everyday so enough said 🙂
    • This primer provides a nice matte finish and it keeps your eye shadow in place all day.
    • The pen applicator makes for real easy application.
    • I bought this at Dischem for about R70.00

4. Contour

  • LA Girl pro conceal-dark
    • For a really prominent contour I use this product and it works wonderfully.
    • The shade is perfect for those great contour lines and the product blends beautifully
    • This retails for about R62.00 at Dischem
  • Essence Contour stick
    • I bought this when I was learning how to contour and it was really great.
    • The pen applicator is perfect for easy application & the product blends beautifully as well.
    • The darkest shade is however not very dark so this is best for fair to medium skin tones and for a light contour.
    • This costs around R85 at Clicks

5. Brows

  • Essence brow pencil
    • I started off with this brow pencil and it’s really great.
    • Its pigmented and does a great job of filling in your brows. It also has a brow brush at the end which is useful 🙂
    • Sharpening this pencil can be a bit of a hassle so make sure you have a good sharpener.
    • This sells for about R29.95 at Clicks.
  • Essence Eyebrow stylist set
    • Combined with the brow pencil this combo will give you amazing brows.
    • The packaging does sort of fall apart but the product is great.
    • I get my Essence products at Clicks and this sells for about R55.00.
  • Freedom makeup brow pomade
    • This brow pomade is amazing. I use it on days when I want really natural looking brows and the shade ‘Soft brown’ really helps me to achieve that.
    • I got this at Muse beauty but Jet now stocks Freedom makeup. This sells for around R90.00.

6. Concealer

  • LA Girl Pro conceal
    • Except for the applicator I love this concealer. Its lightweight, creamy, blends easily and the shade range is extensive.
    • This retails for about R62 and I purchased it at Dischem.
  • Maybelline Fit me concealer
    • I was a bit slow on the uptake for this product but damn was I impressed.
    • This is super creamy and blends like a dream. It also has a wand applicator which I love love.
    • The shade range is not as extensive as the LA Girl Pro conceal though. I use shade 30.
    • This retails for about R99.95 and I purchased it at Dischem.

7. Eyeliner

  • Essence Super last liquid liner.
    • I like this liner a lot. The pigment, the formula and the staying power is amazing. I am not a hug fan of the brush but I have learnt to deal with that.
    • This is around R49.95 at Clicks.
  • NYX matte liquid eyeliner
    • This eyeliner is awesome guys and I especially loved the brush as it was similar to the Rimmel Glam eyes brush (which got discontinued 😦 )
    • This is about R135.00 at Clicks or the NYX store.
  • Essence Liquid ink liner
    • This liner is awesome. I love the brush and the pigmentation.
    • The formula could use some work as I feel it fades a little but for just R54.95 you can afford to double coat and get on with life.
  • LA Girl Glide gel eyeliner pencil
    • These eyeliner are amazing quality at such a great price.
    • I initially got the blue and then other colors.
    • These sell for about R25.00 at Dischem

8. Eye-shadow

Before I got to buying my first 35 pan eye shadow palette I was all about those little ones with 4 colors in them. I was still learning then but I had so much fun with them 🙂

  • Maybelline Diamond glow palettes
    • This comes with a few options and I really like these shadows.
    • These are great for everyday use, especially for work.
    • This retails for around R149.95 at Clicks

Diamond Glow Maybelline

9. Mascara

  • Maybelline Rocket volume express
    • I used to be a Colossal girl but this mascara is my new favorite. I have the shortest eyelashes and this product does wonders for me.
    • It applies well, there are no clumps and the gives such great volume.
    • This sells for around R99.95 at Dischem.Capture.JPG
  • Essence lash princess: False lash effect mascara
    • People have been raving about this but lil ol me just got this a few months ago. I have used it almost everyday since 🙂
    • This sells for about R69.95 at Clicks stores.
    • This really does give you a false lash effect. Just a few coats lengthens and thickens the lashes and I love how black it is!!!Essence Lash Princess False Lash Effect MAscara Review Volumizing Lengthening Drugstore Affordable Canada Toronto.JPG

10. Lashes

  • Eylure lashes
    • These were the first lashes I ever tried and they are such great quality.
    • The range is quite extensive and with the proper care you can get up to 5 uses from one pair of lashes.
    • You can get this at Clicks from R49.95. The price differs for some styles.
    • My favorite styles are 107 & 110.IMG_20171023_223841_686
  • Ardell lashes
    • These lashes are really great. I bought the wispies and they look so lovely on the eye.
    • They retails for about R79.00 at Clicks.ardell-lashes-wispies-multipack-pack-of-4_1024x1024.jpg

11.. Lipsticks

  • Essence Ultra last instant color lipstick
    • This was one of the first Essence products I purchased and I really liked it.
    • It applies well and it’s really creamy
    • This costs about R49.95 at Clicks stores.
  • NYX lip lingerie
    • If you are a looking to try a new liquid matte lipstick then this is a great one to try.
    • The collection consists of nude shades and the range is quite impressive.
    • This sells for a about R149.00 at NYX stores or Clicks.
  • Yardley Stayfast lipstick
    • I have used this for years and years. No matter what lipstick I am trying I always repurchase this one. It is a staple in my collection.
    • This retails for about R120 at Clicks stores and there are quite a few lovely shades.
    • Blush is my favorite shade, it is a pinky nude.

12. Lip liner

  • LA girl
    • The LA girl lip liner is definitely my favorite budget lip liner.
    • It is creamy, pigmented and looks amazing.
    • My favorite shade is Plum.
    •  When I first bought these they were about R20-R25 at Dischem.
  • NYX suede matte lip liner
    • For around R75 this lip liner delivers
    • It is creamy and pigmented and they have a really nice range to choose from.
    • You can get this at the NYX store or Clicks stores.

13. Blush

I am normally a blush palette girl but I really wanted to try a single pan blush. The price of some single pan blush are really surprising so I grabbed this when I found it.

csm_754189_0145ebb71b

  • Essence cosmetics blush: Berry me up
    • These blush are totally cute and sell for about R54.95
    • I was really surprised at the quality as well. They are really pigmented and feel great on the skin.
    • I bought this recently and used it a few times so I am confident that it belongs on this list.
    • You can get this at Clicks or Dischem stores.

14. Setting powder

  • Yardley translucent powder
    • This setting powder is the ish!
    • It is the only setting powder I use currently.
    • It just makes it on the list about R149.95…Whew!!!!!!!!
    • You can get this from Dischem or Take-a-lot. I see that Clicks has raised the price a bit on this

61506-5534-60516-1-detail.jpg

15. Setting spray

  • Essence cosmetics Instant matt makeup setting spray
    • I was pleasantly surprised by this setting spray.
    • It does keep the makeup in place but I do not think it mattifies that much.
    • The spray itself is bigger drops that I would like but for just around R65 you can easily overlook this as it does keep your makeup in place 🙂 Just use a big powder brush to press in the droplets.
    • You can pick this up at Clicks or Dischem stores.

Capture.JPG

So there you have it guys, a list of great products that you can use for a full face of makeup & won’t break the bank. There were many budget friendly products that did not make the list, but that’s for another post.

The above definitely have my stamp of approval and they are wallet friendly so you can try them with no regrets. If there are any other budget friendly products you would recommend let me know in the comments below.

Thanks for taking the time to read my post ♥

XOXO Beauty & the Bronzer

 

 

2 thoughts on “My favorite products that cost less than R150 each”

  1. I love this post! As a very inexperienced make up user, I often hesitate to spend a lot on products that I am unsure of in case I can’t apply it properly or it doesn’t suit me. But now I will be able to practice my skills and find out what I like without breaking the bank 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment